Zeiner, Robinson and Gullo Rule on Chemung's Day 2 Program by Carol Houssock

Day two of the Chemung Speedrome, Presented by Jim Bronson and Ferrario Auto Team of Sayre, PA, double-header was a huge success for all. The weather was perfect, and the pits were packed with cars racing in three divisions. Winners were Zane Zeiner (Race of Champions Modifieds), Nick Robinson (ROC FOAR Score 4 Cylinders) and Anthony Gullo (Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks).

Zane Zeiner used superb tire strategy and saved his car for the final 25 laps of the 75 laps ROC Modified feature. The race was plagued by yellow flags that eliminated perennial favorites such as Matt Hirschman and TJ Potrzebowski, and played a factor over the final laps. Jack Ely and Jake Lutz, who were solidly in the top five all evening, ran out of gas and failed to finish. When it was over, the defending ROC series champion, Zeiner, took the win over Austin Beers (last yearís event winner), Paulie Hartwig III, Roger Coss, and Andy Jankowiak. Zeiner dedicated the win to the Canfield family following the loss of their patriarch. Earlier in the day Hirschman, Zeiner and Ely won the heats, while Ely drew the pole.

In FOAR Score 4 Cylinder action, Corey Edelman and Gene Purvis won their heats while Trisha Connolly and Greg Moldt drew the front row starting positions. Connolly was challenged early on by Moldt, but Nick Robinson was on the move. Once up to second, he and Connolly put on a great show of driver respect as Robinson waited for the right moment and made his race-winning pass at his home track. Connolly's strong run earned her a runner-up finish, followed to the line by Moldt, Edelman, and Purvis.

In the track's regular Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks, Kalysta DeMark, Anthony Gullo, and Dave Yehl won the three heat races. Yehl started from the pole alongside Devin Gullo. It was Yehl, who has run a total of eight asphalt races in his lifetime of dirt racing, who led the way. He survived two restarts following the pair of cautions and kept young Gullo at bay. Following a lap 13 restart, Devin drifted just high enough for his older brother, Anthony, to get by. He was then able to pass Yehl to pick up the win, this one over Yehl, Mike Nickels, D. Gullo and DeMark. When interviewed, all three said how much they enjoy racing in a class where drivers show respect for each other and where the rules are enforced.

The Speedrome is quiet this Friday (June 21st) but returns to action on Friday, June 28th. It's a night the youngsters have the chance to ride in the race cars during intermission of the regular five-division program. Pits open at 4:30, grandstand at 5, practice at 6, and racing at 7 PM. Admission is $15 for adults, $13 for seniors ages 65+, $5 for kids ages 6-12, and free for kids ages 5 and under. For information, log on to the track's website: chemung-speedrome.com, "like" us on Facebook: Chemung Speedrome - Racing at the Drome, or call Ray Hodge, Promoter, at 607-483-3468.

Of Note:

"Storm", a gentleman from Elmira, won the 50/50 and took home $1,121.

Brett Bodine and his family were on hand, returning home from a trip to Canada. His interview solidly confirmed his appreciation for the track and its success. Bodine still works for NASCAR.

Chemung Speedrome í24 apparel (hoodies, t-shirts and hats, along with bumper stickers) are available exclusively at the 07 Collectibles trailer on site.

Results 6/15/24:
Race of Champions Modified Series (75 Laps): ZANE ZEINER, Austin Beers, Paulie Hartwig III, Roger Coss, Andy Jankowiak, Tony Hanbury, Bryan Sherwood, Mike Leaty, Brian DeFebo, Daren Scherer, Bryce Bailey, Don Wagner, Jack Ely, Jake Lutz, Tommy Rought, Zack Curren, Jayden Harman, Lou Strohl, Kyle Strohl, Chris Finocchario, TJ Potrzebowski, Matt Hirschman, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Austin Kochenash
Heats: Hirschman, Zeiner, Ely

ROC FOAR Score 4 Cylinders (20 Laps): NICK ROBINSON, Trisha Connolly, Greg Moldt, Corey Edelman, Gene Purvis, Cody Boehm, Matt Jenkins, Monica Robinson, Augie Worden, Ryan Purvis
Heats: Edelman, G. Purvis

Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks (20 Laps): ANTHONY GULLO, Dave Yehl, Mike Nickels, Devin Gullo, Kalysta DeMark, Gil Sharpsteen, Gene Purvis, Sydnie Decker, Cullen Sharpsteen, Chuck Nichols, Doug DeKay, Dave Decker, Ben Perry, Mike Bailey, Mike Kintner, George Nichols, Jr., Mark Taylor, Brandon Ameigh, Randy Mathews
Heats: DeMark, A. Gullo, Yehl

Flynn Energy & Propane

Speedrome Promotions Group LLC
facebook twitter instagram

Contact Home