New Faces, Repeat Winners at Chemung Speedrome By Matt Lewis

It was an exciting night of racing action at Chemung Speedrome on Friday night with many new faces in victory lane and intense battles in all the classes. A large crowd was on hand and kids rides were offered during intermission on Just in Time Roofing night.

The caution plagued 35-lap Modified feature fielded 13 cars that were led to green by Charlie Sharpsteen with Kevin Youngs taking the early lead. The first caution flew on lap 3 for Peyton Artoffer, with Youngs taking command once again on the restart. Cautions flying twice on lap 14 for Gunner Zeiner, and the second time on the same lap for Payton Arthofer. Lap 20 was another caution for Abery Arthofer. On Lap 24 yet another caution for contact between Keith Youngs and Lee Sharpsteen, which resulted in Keith Youngs being sent to the rear. On the restart, an intense battle raged between Kevin Youngs, and Jimmy Zacharias with side by side racing action. Zacharias took the lead on lap 25, with one last caution flying on lap 29. On the restart it was Zacharias powering away for the win.

The 25-lap Insinger Performance Super Stock feature was led to green by Aaron Cornell. 6th starting Nick Robinson began a fast charge to the front with Garrett Zacharias right behind. Robinson took the lead on lap 4 just as the caution flag flew for Seth Zacharias and Jason Duke Sr. On the restart, it was an intense battle in the front as Garrett Zacharias and Nick Robinson fought for the lead. That battle boiled over on lap 7 as both cars came together off turn 4 with both Nick Robinson and Garrett Zacharias making contact with the infield wall. As a result of the contact, both cars were black flagged and sent to the pits. It was now 3rd running Jim House having the front for the restart, as he led the field to green. And that's where House would stay to take his first ever feature win.

The 20-lap 4 Cylinder Feature was led to green by Peyton Shaw with Jason Peck in hot pursuit. Back in the pack, it was 4th starting Nick Robinson who started to make the charge to the front, as he powered around Zack Jaynes, Jason Peck, and then started reeling in Shaw. That battle was short lived as Nick Robinson took command and waved bye bye, as he powered away from the rest on the pack. It was all Robinson as he landed once again in victory lane.

The 20-Lap Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock feature fielded 14 cars that were led to green by Luke Nickels with Mike Lattimer in pursuit. 3rd starting Randy Matthews began to reel in Lattimer as he slowly worked his way around to make the pass and then went to work on Nickels. After side by side running and some edge of the seat racing, it was Matthews taking over the lead and staying there for the win. During his victory lane interview, he credited his early lead as the key to ensuring victory, resulting in not having to worry about whatever was going on behind him.

The Bandolero 10-lap feature was led to green by Chase Sinsabaugh with Joey Allowatt in hot pursuit. Both cars then proceeded to run side by side for multiple laps with each nosing ahead before falling back with Allowatt taking the lead briefly. When all was said and done, the field finished as it started, with Chase Sinsabaugh taking the win for the Bandits (his first overall win for the 2022 season), and Joey Allowatt taking the win for the Outlaws.

This Friday night’s action is being sponsored by Empire Federal Credit Union. It's a full 5-division program on a night when Chemung honors veterans. Pit gates open at 4 PM, grandstand gate at 5, practice at 6 and racing at 7. Admission is $14 for adults, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for kids 5 and under.
For information, log on to the track’s website:, ‘like’ us on Facebook: Chemung Speedrome – Racing at the Drome, or call Ray Hodge, Promoter, at 607-483-3468.
Sunoco Modifieds - (35 Laps) Jimmy Zacharias, Kevin Youngs, Lee Sharpsteen, Keith Youngs, Bryce Bailey, Rob Shultz, Gunner Zeiner, Payton Arthofer, Abery Arthofer, Pat Judson (-7), TJ Zacharias (_7), Danielle Sharpsteen (-7), Charlie Sharpsteen
Heats: Jimmy Zacharias, Kevin Youngs

Insinger Performance Super Stocks - (25 Laps) Jim House, Jason Duke Jr, Jason Duke Sr, DJ Shaw, Seth Zacharias, Chad Lane, JP Harbst, Joey Bevacqua, Aaron Cornell, Bradley Mister, Nick Robinson (D) (-18), Garrett Zacharias (D) (-18)
Heats: Nick Robinson, Garrett Zacharias

4 Cylinders (20 laps) - Nick Robinson, Zack Jaynes, Sidne Decker, Jason Peck, Dustin Pruyne, Peyton Shaw (-3), Ricky Lane (-11), Greg Moldt (DNS)
Heat:  Zack Jaynes

Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stocks (20 Laps) - Randy Matthews, Josh Parker, Tom Shaffer, Dave Decker, Luke Nickels, Doug Dekay, Mike Lattimer, David Machuga, Tyler Harbst, Cullen Sharpsteen, Kalysta DeMark, Ethan Roberts (-1), Chuck Nichols (-3), Dennis Beardslee (-19)
Heats: Randy Matthews, Mike Lattimer

Bandoleros (10 Laps) - Chase Sinsabaugh (Bandit), Joey Allowatt (Outlaw), Kalysta DeMark, Dallas Harbst, Michael Bast
Heat: Joey Allowatt (Outlaw), Chase Sinsabaugh (Bandit)

Flynn Energy & Propane
Speedrome Promotions Group LLC
facebook twitter instagram

Contact Home