Zack Curren Grabs Sunoco Modified Feature at Chemung; Garrett Zacharias Repeats in Insinger Performance Super Stocks By Matt Lewis

Friday was Veterans night at Chemung Speedrome, as all veterans received free admission to the track. A special ceremony was held prior to the start of racing with the Valley Color Guard participating in a flag ceremony on the backstretch. Veterans in attendance were also interviewed to share memories and reflect back on their service. Empire Federal Credit Union sponsored the night’s action.

The caution free 35 laps Sunoco Modified feature was led to green by Pat Judson with 2nd starting Zack Curren moving into the lead on the first lap. Back in the field, a battle began to shape up as Jimmy Zacharias and TJ Potrzebowski battled side by side with both cars moving up into the top 5. Seth Zacharias decided to try his hand wheeling the families number 26 modified as he starts to get experience in this class. Kevin Youngs was the other mover in the field starting 4th and moving up to 2nd, but in the end, it was all Zack Curren as he took the feature win.

The 25 lap Insinger Performance Super Stock feature had it all, with edge of your seat racing and a photo finish. It was led to green by Joey Bevacqua with JP Harbst in pursuit. Back in the field, all eyes were on 5th starting Nick Robinson and 6th starting Garrett Zacharias, as both immediately started their drive towards the front. It was Robinson taking over the lead on lap 2, with Zacharias moving up into 2nd by lap 5 as Tim Gullo moved up into 3rd. The first caution flew on on Lap 8 as Jason Duke Jr spun out on the front stretch with Chad Lane, and Ron Underwood involved as well. Underwood's car ended up making contact with the wall at the beginning of turn 1. On the restart the battle at the front continued as Robinson held off Zacharias as he maintained the lead. The caution flag flew again on lap 22, and on the restart, an intense side by side 3 lap battle began to rage between Robinson, and Zacharias. In the end it was a clean side by side photo finish with Zacharias taking the win by less than half a bumper length.

The 20 lap Marion Decker Hobby Stock feature was led to green by Kalysta DeMark with Luke Nichols running in 2nd. The first caution flew on lap 4 as the race leader DeMark, spun in the middle of turn 1 and 2. This put Nichols in the lead for the restart, with Harbst starting 2nd. A 2nd caution flew on the same lap for Ethan Roberts, and on the restart it was Nichols taking command. The 3rd caution flew on lap 14 as DeMark spun once again on turn 1 and 2. On the restart, it was Josh Parker on the move as he moved up into 2nd position and started to reel in Nichols. A side by side battle ensued with Parker taking the lead on lap 17. And that's where he stayed to take the win.

The 20 lap 4 Cylinder feature was led to green by Dustin Pruyne with Zack Jaynes in 2nd. Back in the field it was 3rd starting Nick Robinson powering his way to the front and waiting for the right moment to take the lead. Back in the field, it was Micah Adams moving up to 3rd position, but when all was said and done, it was all Robinson as he took the win. - Matt Lewis

The 10 lap Bandolero feature was led to green by Joey Allowatt, with Kalysta DeMark in pursuit. The battle for the lead began with multi lap side by side racing between Allowatt and DeMark with each car edging into the lead multiple times. When all was said and done, it was DeMark taking the win for the Outlaws, with Chase Sinsabaugh taking the win for the Bandits.

Chemung is idle this Friday for competitors and fans to celebrate the 4th of July weekend. Racing will resume on Friday, July 8th. It will be a special night, as the Limited Super Modifieds join the regulars in a program sponsored by Buckley's Automotive. Pit gates open at 4 PM, grandstand gate at 5, practice at 6 and racing at 7. Admission is $18 for adults, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for kids 5 and under.

For information, log on to the track’s website:, like us on Facebook: Chemung Speedrome – Racing at the Drome, or call Ray Hodge, Promoter, at 607-483-3468.
Empire Federal Credit Union results:

Sunoco Modifieds (35 laps) Zack Curren, Kevin Youngs, Lee Sharpsteen, T Potrzebowski, Jimmy Zacharias, Scott Wylie, Charlie Sharpsteen, Andy Lewis. Jr., Seth Zacharias, Pat Judson (-10), Danielle Sharpsteen (-23), Johnny Rogers (-32) Heat Winners - TJ Potrzebowski, Jimmy Zacharias.

Insinger Performance Super Stocks (25 Laps) Garrett Zacharias, Nick Robinson, Tim Gullo, Frank Chapman, Jason Duke Sr, DJ Shaw, Jason Duke Jr, JP Harbst, Aaron Cornell, Bradley Mister, Seth Zacharias, Joey Bevacqua,(-6), Derrick Tarbox (-12), Chad Lane (-18), Ron Underwood (-18) Heat Winners Nick Robinson, Garrett Zacharias.

Bandoleros (10 Laps) Kalysta DeMark (Outlaw), Michael Bast, Joey Allowatt, Chase Sinsabaugh (Bandit), Devin Gullo, Derrick Vogler (-2), Dallas Harbst (-2), Reese Faulisi (-3) - Heat Winner - Kalysta DeMark

4 Cylinders (20 Laps) - Nick Robinson, Zack Jaynes, Micah Adams, Dustin Pruyne, Matt Jenkins, Jason Peck, Peyton Shaw (-1), Ricky Lane (NG) Heat Winner - Zack Jaynes

Marion Decker Hobby Stocks (20 Laps) Josh Parker, Luke Nichols, Tyler Harbst, Dave Machuga, Randy Matthews, Cullen Sharpsteen, Mike Lattimer, Kalysta DeMark, George Nichols Jr, Ethan Roberts, Brian DeMark (-7), Tom Shaffer (-17), Chuck Nichols (-17) Heat Winners - Tom Shaffer, Josh Parker.

Flynn Energy & Propane
Speedrome Promotions Group LLC
facebook twitter instagram

Contact Home